Valerie Gommon Midwife’s Blog

Tots to Teens Exhibition – Milton Keynes

Posted on: February 14, 2009

Again, I have been quiet, there is so much that I could comment about, but I think it will have to wait until tomorrow!  There has been the thirteen year old who has fathered a baby to his fifteen year old girlfriend; there is the story of Salma Hayek the Mexican actress who breastfed a baby in Sierra Leone (there is lots I’d like to write about that).

Briefly, I haven’t much changed my opinions of Teenage Pregnancy since my posting “Baby abandoned in Bedford – Teenage Pregnancy” on 11th January 2009.  I honestly believe that many young people make excellent parents, indeed I saw a very responsible couple on television whose baby was born when they were just sixteen, but equally I am very aware of the cycle of deprivation that often exists, and this young father is only a child himself … I hope they get the support they will need.

The reason for my absence from The Blog is because I am involved in the “Tots to Teens Exhibition” which is currently taking place in Middleton Hall, The Centre: MK, Milton Keynes.  Tomorrow (Sunday) is the final day of this Exhibition – it has been quite successful, with stalls as diverse as St John’s Ambulance who are promoting first aid training, to photography by Kate Everall www.kateeverallphotography.com (and others), bedroom murals by Charlotte Designs www.charlottedesigns.co.uk to baby swimming classes www.waterbabies.co.uk and much more besides.  We have been busily speaking to couples who are considering a family, pregnant or who have small children.  It was particularly pleasing to have a couple come up to me today who I had met a few months ago at a similar Exhibition – we had discussed the options for their birth and talked about homebirth and the couple had gone on to have a lovely homebirth (their first baby) and had come to thank me for the information.  That really makes me feel good about what I do, and makes me realise how important it is to be visible as a midwife, and available for couples to speak to.

If you hurry, you can still catch the Exhibition which closes at 5pm tomorrow, Sunday 15th February.  If you miss this one, I am co-hosting another Antenatal Exhibition on Sunday 8th March at The Guildhall, Church of Christ the Cornerstone, Central Milton Keynes (opposite Marks and Spencer) between 2pm – 4.30pm – see www.3shiresmidwife.co.uk for more details.

Leave a Reply

Twitter

