Valerie Gommon Midwife’s Blog

Waterbirth

Posted on: August 4, 2010

It has occurred to me that I haven’t written about the benefits of waterbirth.

I think the use of water in a labour and birth can be hugely beneficial; I’ll start with my own personal experience/feelings about waterbirth.  When my youngest child was born, more than twenty years ago now, waterbirths were just being talked about in the press.  I remember my husband asking me whether I wanted to consider a waterbirth and I have to say that I wasn’t interested, but then I’d already had three babies and I knew that I could cope with labour.

As a midwife, I would say that my opinion of waterbirth is only positive.  I recognise that not all women will want or need a waterbirth, but I would strongly recommend all women not to rule the use of water out.  It may be that you use water by having a bath or shower in labour; it can be hugely comforting to have shower water jetting onto your tummy or back whilst in labour.

As I see it, if we are achy or tense a bath is usually helpful.  It works in just the same way in labour; water is usually relaxing.  Another benefit is that women are much more mobile in labour and have their weight supported by the water making it easier to move around.  Lastly (dare I say it) if you are in a birthpool no one can interfere with you!  You are in your own space and are much more in control of what happens.

Most hospitals now have at least one birthing pool and if it is something that appeals to you I suggest you discuss it with your midwife and let the labour ward midwife know as soon as you arrive at the hospital.

For homebirths there is a considerable choice of birthpools available, for example rigid “bath” type pools that come with and without water heaters and inflatable pools.

I think the main benefit of the rigid pool with a heater is that you can put it up in advance of the birth and treat yourself to a relaxing “wallow” in the days leading up to the birth and also not have the stress of putting up the pool once labour starts.  The negative to these pools is that because they have a water filter you will need to put chemicals into the water to keep it clean.

The inflatable pools are very good, they are also usually cheaper than hiring a rigid pool.  The pool will be brand new (although both types have a disposable liner to ensure hygiene) and can be used again, or used as a giant paddling pool or ball pool for your children.  The soft sides of the pool are also very comfortable to lean against.

Here are a selection of companies who either hire or sell waterbirth pools:

www.thegoodbirth.co.uk – quote Valerie Gommon

www.borninwater.co.uk – quote Indy Mid discount

www.gentlewater.co.uk

www.bubbatubs.com

www.aquabirth.co.uk

www.madeinwater.co.uk

Leave a Reply

Twitter

