Valerie Gommon Midwife’s Blog

Gina Ford …

Posted on: March 11, 2012

I have to say that I have never been a fan of Gina Ford.  Although I haven’t read her book “The contented little baby” from cover to cover, I’ve read enough to know that I completely disagree with her ideas of strict routines, indeed I wonder how any mother could cope with doing anything else if she followed Ms Ford’s advice as every moment of the day and night appears to be mapped out!

I was very interested in a parenting programme that was on TV a year or so ago which followed three couples who followed various styles of parenting; there was a couple who adopted a very strict time scheduled routine, a middle way and those who adopted an attachment style of parenting.  I was not surprised to learn that the couple who practised attachment parenting were the ones who got the most sleep!  Whilst I appreciate that this may not be for everybody, I think it is important for parents to know that they should listen to their instincts and parent in the way that makes them feel most comfortable and that they don’t have to listen to the “so-called” experts.

Back to Gina Ford, in her new book “The contented mother’s guide” she apparently is advising women that they should resume marital relations within four to six weeks after the birth.  Well, as a mother and a midwife I KNOW this will not be for everyone and indeed in some circumstances this could be positively dangerous and harmful.

As a midwife, women have sometimes shared their stories with me and I have known women who resume sexual relations within days of childbirth and I also know that there are women who wait a year (or more).  What is right for women couple will not be for another and you should follow your own instinct and not listen to a woman who has not had children herself!

For further information see https://midwifevalerie.wordpress.com/2009/01/03/sex-after-birth/

1 Response to "Gina Ford …"

I’m with you Valerie x

Leave a Reply

Twitter

