Valerie Gommon Midwife’s Blog

Another birth …

Posted on: February 19, 2009

I promised that I would be writing properly again and then what happened, another baby decided to put in an appearance two weeks early!  So all in all I’ve had a busy time lately, what with the Tots to Teens Exhibition being closely followed by this birth – a beautiful baby girl.

Life seems hectic and full-on, but that is the life of a midwife, never knowing when next I will be called.  I do have particularly busy times, followed by quieter periods, in fact I have been relatively quiet for a while, but am now going into a busy period, two more babies expected over the next few weeks.

I am just off for my annual Supervisory review.  All midwives have a Supervisor of Midwives, someone who ensures that they are up-to-date with emergency training and someone who can also help to ensure that a midwife gets any support she needs, a confidential listening ear should it be needed.  So in fact Supervision is there to protect the public, but also to protect and support the midwife.  You can read more about Supervision here www.nmc-uk.org/aArticle.aspx?ArticleID=2098 and members of the public can also ensure that a midwife is registered with the Nursing and Midwifery Council (our professional body) by searching the register here www.nmc-uk.org/aNewSearchRegister.aspx

Leave a comment